Something Fresh

The great little man.

with 12 comments

Time: 3 pm.
Location: Room 123, Digital Image Processing lecture.
Me: What’s the score?
Rajasa: Whenever I ask my sister the score, we lose a wicket.
Me: Okay, then DON’T find out. God is batting.
Ishan: God? WHO?

Time: 4 pm.
Location: Canteen.
40 people sitting around the tiny TV in the canteen. I pull out a dirty looking chair to sit and watch. God: 83 not out. His hundred is greeted with claps (Quotidian stuff for him).

Time: 5:15 pm.
Location: Canteen.
40 people sitting, 20 standing, 4 of us move to the sill to look over everyone. God: 143 not out. Every boundary is cheered, clapped and screamed. People were already whispering 200 under their breaths.

Time: 6:10 pm.
Location: Still canteen.
40 people sitting, 60 standing on the floor, 60 on their shoulders, 70 standing on 7 tables (then one broke), 15 peeping in from windows outside the canteen, 8 standing on the sill, 2 watching from a hole in the wall at a height of 11 feet, 3 watching from behind the TV, upside down. God: 190 not out.
Dhoni’s every boundary is sworn at. Unflinchingly. Sachin’s every STEP is roared at. At the top of the lungs. I think this is the time I lost my voice.

Time 6:19 pm.
Location: India.
Mayhem. God: 200 not out.

Time: 6:31 pm.
Ishan: Dude, I’m a believer. You got me, he is God.

“Reducing the number of atheists in India since 1989, Sachin Tendulkar” – someone on Twitter. I rest my case. Also, I need my voice back.

Written by Fez

February 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. likes…:)n caught the moment when ppl rushed outta CCD door blowing whistles..GOD fever!

    Aditi

    February 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

  2. Inspiring!

    Kunal Kapoor’s message on twitter:

    I finally know what god really looks like!! He is about 5″5, maharashtrian and plays cricket!! Tendulkar bapa morya
    http://twitter.com/kapoorkkunal

    I found out early morning here around 8 am when I got to university. Wanted to scream and whistle for the first time in my life. Unfortunately, I missed the entire match (it’s entirely different watching it live), but I managed to catch the 0:52 minutes on YT.

    Unbelievable though. Legend. There will be no one like him ever!

    Mia

    February 27, 2010 at 10:13 am

  3. @ Aditi:
    Haha I know. A lot of people were caught midway between the canteen and CCD, hearing screams from both sides, not knowing where to go. Were you one of those?

    @ Mia:
    Everyone seems to be claiming that quote. Today’s newspaper says that’s Amitabh’s quote. But it doesn’t matter.
    You should’ve screamed and whistled. Do you mean 52 minutes or 52 seconds? If it’s a 52 minutes highlights video, please share the link.
    Words aren’t enough to describe the phenomenon that he is. I really wanted to write a huge post about him, but everything that should be said about his cricket and his persona has already been said.

    Fez

    February 27, 2010 at 11:21 am

  4. :-D…you write GOOD maan!
    Not all THAT much of a Sachin fan, anyways, but definite respect.
    Peace!

    Vipluv

    February 27, 2010 at 3:14 pm

  5. Thanks Vipluv! Haha, yeah, some day I’d like to meet someone who’s also “THAT much of a Sachin fan.”

    Fez

    February 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

  6. Yikes. I put down minutes by mistake. I meant 52 seconds, but I was wrong on that as well, and it was exactly 49 seconds :(
    Yeah. I know what you mean, but you did a really good job with this one!

    Mia

    February 27, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  7. Noooooo! Hopefully you are still not on here! I always wanted to be the first one to respond in a minute or two to the last message! :D :D

    Mia

    February 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  8. No Mia, I’d logged off! Since you wanted to be the first one, you responded to your own message in two minutes?! :P

    Fez

    February 28, 2010 at 7:14 am

  9. lol! I feel so silly now. For someone’s message (not my own – think I already beat the record for that too on your blog earlier :D). But, yeah after posting I realized I did that already a few days back.

    Mia

    February 28, 2010 at 9:02 am

  10. What excitement! ;)

    Fez

    March 1, 2010 at 8:59 am

  11. huh!!!! my ignorance cost me the pleasure of watching the little master bat that day!!!!!

    Ishan

    March 2, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  12. @ Ishan: Points and laughs!

    Fez

    March 4, 2010 at 9:32 am


Leave a comment