Something Fresh

That place.

with 5 comments

Location: Toys “R” Us
Scene: A little child looks longingly at this awesome toy he really wants, but can’t have.

Moving on…

There’s this place I’ve always wanted to be at. It’s the place where most cool things happen. It’s the place where something impressive happens almost as if everyday. It’s a place where rebelliousness is not just encouraged, it’s demanded.

It’s awe-inspiring. I’ve had it on my mind for I can’t remember how long. I will continue to have it on my mind for I don’t know how long. Twice I wanted to go to that place, but they sent me the nicest go-to-hell responses I’ve ever gotten: “We’re unable to have you here because of the unusually high blah blah blah.”

The little child is me, and that toy (i.e. that place) is Stanford. Respect.

A couple of weeks ago I met with my admissions counsellor of sorts, and he told me mincing no words, “I’m extremely sad you didn’t get into Stanford.” I responded, “Yeah, but do you think their admissions committee gives a rat’s ass about me?” :D

If I ever apply to grad schools again, I already know the first name on that list.

(This is something I should’ve written about long time ago, but forgot. piscianemperor’s latest post reminded me to finally do it.)

Written by Fez

July 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude, do your PHD at Stan..I am sure they will take you this time !!!

    visionary

    July 16, 2010 at 11:40 pm

  2. It sucks when you don’t get what you want! This is the last thing I should say, but some things happen for a reason and who knows maybe there are much better things in store for your future!
    At this point you will be like what could be better than Standford? But you never know or like visionary said you could always aim for PhD! :-)

    Mia

    July 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm

  3. @ visionary:
    Haha, only because they’ll be sick of rejecting my application the next time!

    @ Mia:
    Firstly, COOL gravatar!

    Yeah, I hope I don’t know what will be better, but I doubt it! I hope I still want to do a PhD a few years down the line!

    Fez

    July 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  4. If you do apply the next time, you will get in. How about writing that gestures patent huh? I’ve been thinking about that all night.

    piscianemperor

    July 20, 2010 at 8:17 am

  5. You geek! You dreamt about writing our patent? It’s one thing dreaming about it getting accepted, totally another about writing it : ). Yes, we really need to do that. I’ll work on it a bit this week, definitely!

    Fez

    July 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm


Leave a comment